Skip to main content

How Gelatin Capsules Are Better Than Other Capsules Available In The Market?

When buying empty capsules, now you have the option buying traditional Gelatin or Vegetarian Capsule. As both can be used, the preference is determined by the consumer's need. Even so, as a pharmaceutical or supplement manufacturer understanding the materials and benefits of each type of capsules can help you decide which is the most appropriate for the product.

Gelatin capsules

Gelatin is the most common material in the production of capsules not only because it is cheaper than other alternatives, gelatin also has beneficial effects for the body when digested - it is good for the digestive system, protects the joints and helps reduce the pain in these, assists in improving sleep and favors mood and cognitive functions. Gelatin has been used in medicine for many years and there is a wide variety of commercially available gelatin capsules that differ in characteristics such as colors, sizes and flavors. Gelatin itself is an animal by-product that is high in collagen and is produced with the connective tissue of calf or chicken.

Although the percentage of people who have restrictions on their preferences is not great, capsule manufacturers have to consider another important factor. Specifically, that gelatin capsules are preferred for powdered drugs. Liquid-based formulations are usually not compatible with gelatin and this has to be considered when choosing a type of capsule.

There are 2 types of Gelatin capsules: 1) hard with lids and 2) soft, with a single shell.

The consistency of the capsules depends on the ratio of the three main components: gelatin, glycerin and water. Glycerin can partially be replaced by other plasticizers - sorbitol, sugar syrup.

Solid capsules are designed for dispensing bulk powder and granular substances. They have the shape of a cylinder with hemispherical ends are composed of two parts: the body and the lid; both parts must freely enter one into the other without forming gaps.

Soft capsules - for liquid and pasty medicinal substances. They have the form of spherical, ovate, oblong or cylindrical hemispherical ends.

The quality of the capsules is largely determined by the film-forming agents, which are currently over 50: gelatin, fats, paraffin, MC, EC, polyethylene, nylon, PVC, etc. The main raw material for capsules is gelatin.

The question that can be asked is why soft gelatin capsules are plant-based? The use of animal gelatin in the production of soft gelatin capsules can be a serious obstacle for many people and markets in the world because of questions of religion, regulatory, cultural and personal preferences when the use of animal products is unacceptable. The shell of this capsule is made of seaweed extract and starch without gluten, and also without modified sugars and dyes. In fact, it's a vegetarian capsule.

Advantages of soft gelatin capsules based on plant raw materials are: complete absence of animal derivatives (pork or beef), they are easy to swallow because of a soft and natural shell without a specific odor. In addition, such a shell will provide high stability with a wide range of temperatures and humidity.


Popular posts from this blog

Types of Dosage Forms of Capsules

Undoubtedly, Nutraceutical & Pharmaceutical products are progressively being regulated as capsules. These have numerous points of interest over tablets which, as of not long ago, have been the more generally embraced measurements structure. Capsules are presently accessible in an assortment of shapes, sizes and materials, each case for the most part containing a solitary portion of a functioning fixing. Likewise, with tablets, certain different excipients might be fused in the material that is stacked into a case. These incorporate dormant diluents, greases and glidants, wetting specialists and disintegrants. The capsule shell may likewise join antimicrobial additives, fillers, seasoning specialists, sugars and shading operators. There are two types of capsules utilized for nutraceutical and pharmaceutical products – soft capsules and hard capsules. Traditional capsules are produced using gelatin, which is a generally created creature-based item. Even more as of late hydroxypropylm

What You Need To Know About Hard Gelatin?

  Gelatin is a translucent proteinaceous substance that is colorless, practically tasteless, and brittle when dry but elastic when mixed with a precise amount of liquid. In the presence of water, it produces a semisolid colloid gel with a temperature-dependent gel–sol transformation and viscoelastic flow. Crystallites (microscopic crystals generated during the chilling step of capsule shell manufacturing) sustain the three-dimensional gel network structure and are responsible for gelatin solution streaming birefringence. The cap and body of a hard gelatin capsule are made up of two parts. The body is slightly smaller than the cap's diameter and fits inside the cap. They are manufactured unfilled and then filled in a different process. The body of the capsule is filled with the medicament, then the cap is inserted over the body during the capsule filling unit operation. To suit the production and use requirements of hard gelatin capsules, the forms and interlocking arrangement o

HPMC Capsules Are the Choice of the Health Conscious Generation

Health is one of the biggest concerns of the 21 st century. More people are leaning towards adopting fitness regimes in order to live a healthy life. In recent times, the population of health-conscious people has seen a dramatic increase. People are continuously looking for medicinal products made from natural ingredients. This is especially popular behavior among users of health supplements. The biggest advantage of natural supplements is the absence of side effects. Gone are the days when the health conscious people were only looking for physical results. Today, they are more interested in consuming stuff that won’t affect their health in the long term. This often means quitting animal-based supplements and choosing plant-based ones. Rise in Demand The popularity of green pharmaceutical or supplementary products is witnessing never seen before growth. One of the biggest reasons why people are preferring products made of non-animal ingredients is the presence of negligi